The Power of Positive Affirmations

Happy Friday everyone! I wanted to take a moment to discuss a very powerful mental tool that can help you get out of any type of rut – be it mental, emotional, EVEN physical! Affirmations, put simply, are things that you say or think and believe to be true. And if you believe in them with all of your little heart, they have the power to create or change any circumstance. You may think this is crazy talk.. How could a thought, something abstract, manifest itself into something as concrete as your physical being? While I don’t want to completely go into the Law of Attraction and all that jazz (in this post at least), I do want to show you through my experiences how life-changing and useful these little guys can be.

For as long as I can remember, I have always had this little nag in my head. I had no clue why, but something was always keeping me from being entirely happy. Nothing was really wrong with my life, however, I still dealt with endless anxiety, perfectionism, and dysthemia (again I’ll go into all of this in a later post). The mental struggle was never ending.. And the only person I was fighting was myself. Then I discovered the power of positive affirmations.

After living in San Marcos and going to university at Texas State for 3 1/2 years, I had to leave and move home with my parents. The reasons why I left will remain undisclosed, I will just say I was not in a good place. Or as Radiohead so cleverly says it, “For a minute there, I lost myself.” Not only was I withdrawing from my previous lifestyle (partying, excessive alcohol, smoking (herb and ciggs), staying out late), I was also going through withdrawal from the  pharmaceutical drugs they had me on prior to moving home – Klonopin and Ritalin (both very powerful and verrry addicting). Add on top of that living in a small house with my mom and dad, my sister and her kids coming over on a daily basis (don’t get me wrong, I love my family but I had zero alone time – which is vital for me). Basically everything I had grown used to in my life had been completely turned upside down. I had no friends, no privacy, and no car. I was also jobless, money-less, without a prospect in sight – my parents live in the middle of nowhere and nothing is walking distance (especially in the Texas heat!). To put it nicely, I was in hell.

I let my situation get the best of me for quite some time. I would sit for hours on end dwelling on the past and things I could not change. Finally though, I got fed up with sitting on the couch gorging on TV and cheap, processed foods. I decided to change. My friend Jenny had once mentioned the book The Secret, right before I had witnessed her life transform into this amazing existence (one I sometimes shamefully envied). I decided I had nothing to lose, and everything to gain. I bought the book and studied it thoroughly. The concept excited me. This was something I had never done before – actually fight that little voice in my head that was constantly sending me negative messages, and replace them with positive ones instead!

During this time I also began doing yoga 3 times per day (morning, noon, and night quite literally), journaling my feelings, and experimenting with meditation. In my journal I had three sections – worries, self-image, and affirmations. I would begin by writing down my daily woes, followed by updates on my physical appearance (I was trying to lose the couch potato weight I gained). Lastly, I would write some affirmations (this was, no pun intended, the secret to how I got my life back). After they were written on paper, I would sit for 3-5 minutes and meditate. I would repeat the affirmations to myself, things like “I am beautiful, I am strong, I am..(insert attribute here).”

After a month or so, I started to see a change. I manifested a car (thank you Rose!) which in turn provided me with a job. My job, while mediocre at best (hello minimum wage/corporate slave labor!), allowed me to save up money and visit my friends. While visiting San Marcos one weekend I met a boy whom I started a 4 months long open-relationship with – who offered to let me move in with him in Austin until I got onto my feet (things ended shortly after I moved up here but the universe always gave me a place to stay)! So I applied at my old job (doing the tech support I am doing today) and got a call 30 minutes later!! The interview was the next day, I got the job, and here I am now – 10 months later – living in Austin, taking care of business! 🙂

I use affirmations on a daily basis to help with my mental well-being. Just the other day I was rearranging my bedroom and I actually used affirmations to help myself move my queen-sized bed across the room!! You might not believe it, but it’s true! I just repeated to myself “You are strong, you can do this..” and pictured myself moving the mattress where it needed to go – and it worked! Needless to say, I was very proud of myself (and my muscles, apparently all of this yoga is paying off!).

Now for the yummy stuff! Last night I made garlic knots and a deep dish pizza (using left-over dough to make my crust :)). Turned out SUPREMELY delicious. I actually just ate the last two pieces for dinner. MMMM!

deep dish pizza w/ red onions, tomatoes, feta, parmesan, and goat cheese.

and

garlic knots, mmmm!

Here’s my adapted recipe:

Dough

1 3/4 c hot water

1/4 c olive oil

1 t sea salt

1T sugar

1 1/2 T dry-active yeast

4 cups unbleached bread flour

Mix all ingredients except for the flour, let yeast fully dissolve. Slowly add the flour until a dough is formed. Let proof (I put mine in a warm oven and it was done in 30 min!) until dough has doubled in size. Roll out the dough, cut into strips, roll and tie into a knot. Let proof again until knots are double in size. Bake at 400 degrees until the knots are nice and brown, around 12 minutes. Brush on garlic oil, recipe below:

Garlic Infused Oil

1/8 c olive oil

2T butter (or butter substitute)

4 (I used 5) garlic cloves

handful fresh parsley, chopped

Heat all ingredients on medium-low while the knots are baking. Brush on knots while still warm. Love this recipe forever.

To make the dough into pizza – I simply rolled out a circle, pressed it into a pie pan, and folded the edges to make a thick rounded crust. Bake until lightly brown. Then add pizza sauce, red onion, tomatoes, feta, parmesan, and garlic-herb goat cheese. Sprinkle with basil. Bake until crust is brown and cheese is melted. Then DEVOUR! 😀

Hope you have a great weekend!

this is my little precious, Gizmo!

What kind of little precious do you have? Pets, children? 🙂

Namaste’

❤ Sam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Power of Positive Affirmations

  1. What an amazing story, truly, and what a ‘coincidence’ that you wrote this post while I’m holding off doing affirmations. I do believe in the energy and power of our thoughts but ‘haven’t gotten around to’ channeling this energy for myself. Obviously, the sooner the better. I have the book, maybe it’s time I finished it 😉

    • the neurotic yogini says:

      yeah, haha, i thought it was funny when i read your post too – the synchronicities of the universe never cease to amaze me! 🙂

      i defintely recommend finishing the book (i’ve read it over 5 times lol)! i was kicking myself for not reading it 3 years ago when she first told me to!! it was just the push i needed to look deep into myself and change those things (in my head) that were preventing me from living to my fullest potential!

      good luck!!! 🙂

  2. amylouisemc says:

    I really want to try positive affirmations, I think that they will definitely help build my self esteem.

    I also really want to start doing yoga….any suggestions for a beginner? 🙂

    • the neurotic yogini says:

      Yes they will!! Affirmations are a great way to learn to love yourself just the way you are! As far as yoga goes.. when I was beginning I just read a shitload of yoga books and bought every DVD I could get my little hands on. I would practice alone in my room in front of a mirror. If you can get into a class, even better! Good luck with your endeavors!! 🙂

  3. I read The Secret – such a good concept. Positive affirmations, I’m working on them myself! Nice blog.

Leave a Reply

