Week(end) Update

Man, it’s been a busy week! Sorry for my lack of posts.. SXSW in Austin, my boy did the lighting on the main stage, and Bright Eyes did a spectacular show Saturday night (which I got to see front and center from the lightbooth. 😉 You can download it @npr.org)! I also got to spend the weekend showing JC’s (that’s my boy) sister Haley a good time for her first trip to the heart of Texas!

Me and Haley

I’m currently working on a massive post for later this week.. (might be multiple posts, I haven’t decided yet) so in the meantime I’m going to leave you with a few recipes to catch you up on some of the yumminess that was going on last week in the midst of the fun! 🙂

To start with, I had my first experience cooking lentils! I used Averie’s Chipotle Salsa Lentils recipe, yet tweaked it quite a bit. I had some extra produce I needed to get rid of before it went bad.. Thus creating:

Clean Out Your Crisper Spicy Lentils

chock-full o' veggies!

 Does anyone else call the vegetable tray in the refrigerator a crisper?

Ingredients:

2 c (1 bag) green lentils

4 c water

1 c chopped (baby) carrots

1 c broccoli (I used frozen)

1 c red onion, chopped

1 whole jalapeno, diced (hey, I’m from Texas!)

1/4 cup tomato, chopped

1 cup salsa

squirt of ketchup

the following seasonings to taste – oregano, garlic salt, ground black pepper, paprika, cumin, chili powder, & cayenne pepper

Simply allow lentils to come to a boil in the water, simmer and cook for about 15 minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients, cook another 15 minutes until lentils are tender.

spicy vegan fare 🙂

Alongside the lentils I paired a not-so-vegan salad..

topped w/ creamy goat cheese!

Goat’s milk cheese is amazingly delicious! It is also lower in fat, calories, and cholesterol than other cheeses – while not losing the rich, creamy texture. (I use goat cheese in place of cream cheese on my bagels.) It also provides more calcium and fewer carbs! Most lactose-intolerant people are also able to eat goat’s milk cheese without causing any digestive disturbances. 🙂

Joyce the Juicer

I had an intense chocolate craving, so I whipped up this to remedy it:

Cocoa(nut)-Banana Smoothie

definitely hit the spot!

1 frozen banana

about 1/4 c almond milk

spoonful of cocoa

handful of dried coconut flakes

agave to taste

Start with almond milk and frozen banana chunks in the blender. Gradually incorporate everything else and blend until smooth. Top with coconut flakes and enjoy!!! 🙂

giz being cute!!

Another day I made my homemade black beans. After soaking a bag of black beans overnight, I cooked the beans with water (about 2 inches above bean level) in a crock pot (on low) for around 12 hours. Halfway through cooking, I added 1 1/2 jalapenos, 1 white onion, 1/2 red onion, 1/2 tomato, 1 large jar of salsa, and the following seasonings – chili powder, cayenne pepper, cumin, garlic salt, ground black pepper, and paprika to taste.

With the beans I put together these delicious..

Black Bean Lettuce Wraps

Simple and scrumptious.

romaine lettuce leaves

homemade black beans

feta cheese

opt. cayenne pepper hot sauce

I’ve been drinking Green Smoothies almost every day. I definitely notice an increase in my energy on the days when I include these in my regimen. While eventually I would like to include other supplements, so far I’ve been keeping my recipes relatively simple.

Here’s one yummy example:

1 banana

1/4 cup almond milk

1/2 fresh mango

2 c fresh strawberries

2 handfuls of collard greens (chopped)

agave to taste

ice

Blend all until smooth.

tastes so much better than it looks, it's yummy i swear!

The last recipe I’d like to share is for my easy Naan bread pizza. Naan bread is a traditional Indian bread. I buy a whole-wheat variety that I like to top w/ all the goodies to make a supremely satisfying pizza!

Naan Bread Pizza

Ingredients:

Whole-wheat Naan Bread (pre-packaged or homemade)

pizza sauce

chopped tomatoes

sliced red onion

freshly grated parmesan

crumbled feta

dried oregano (substituted for basil)

Toast the Naan bread in the oven at 400 degrees until lightly brown. Top with pizza sauce, veggies, and cheese. Return to oven until cheese is melted. Let cool (this is the hardest part!) and dig in!!! 😀

I hope you had a great weekend and start to this week! Until next time…

Namaste’

❤ Sam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

