Holy Tomato!

Or HOLE-y, rather…

See what I mean?! It was sad having to cut him loose, but the boyfriend said he was taking beneficial energy away from the plant and other fruits. So now he’s just chillin on my kitchen counter….

At least there are lots more growing away out there! I bought this little tomato plant from Wal-Mart a few weeks ago and it’s really taken off! (Don’t worry, I got organic stuff to replace the Wal-Mart chemicals that I’m sure are very abundant in that potting soil!)

In other news..

I made myself a delicious *NEW* salad yesterday! I went on a wonderful excursion to Central Market Tuesday night with my lady Sage and picked up all kinds of organic goodies! Here are the makings to my salad:

Ingredients

Baby Spinach and Arugula Blend

Carrots, shredded

Tomato, chopped

Red Onion, sliced

Red Kale, chopped (I love how vegetables named “Red” are always so clearly “Purple” lol)

Basil and Onion Crumbled Goat Cheese (delicious!!!)

Raw Sunflower Seeds

Disregard the avocado.. I didn’t actually have time to include this in my salad.. Of course feel free to throw that in! (I’m a little obsessed w/ these creamy things too!!)

I’ve never tried kale before.. honestly it was sort of intimidating me. But just one look at this beauty and I could not bypass it. Such pretty colors! (Turns out it tastes okay too! Was also a wonderful addition to my smoothie today. Recipe for that later.. ;))

For the dressing I got inspiration from Averie’s Creamy Lemon and Herb Dressing. I threw together the following – Veganaise, lemon juice, fresh dill, dried oregano, fresh ground pepper, and some olive oil – and it turned out quite well! (Although next time I’ll add a little more Veganaise as mine came out too runny.. I didn’t measure anything though!)

All in all, it turned out to be a very scrumptious lunch. I enjoyed it while sitting next to my computer at work.. Here’s the finished product all packed up and ready to go!

Well.. looks like I’m running short on time for this post.. ‘Bout to leave work and get all packed up for my trip to see my family this weekend! Super excited to see my nephews (aged 4 and 7) play in their very first Little League game tomorrow! GO BEES!! 😀

Here are some inspirational (and funny) quotes about yoga to get you ready for your weekend practice!

Yoga teaches us to cure what need not be endured and endure what cannot be cured. ” ~B.K.S. Iyengar

“Yoga is the fountain of youth.  You’re only as young as your spine is flexible.” ~Bob Harper

“The yoga mat is a good place to turn when talk therapy and antidepressants aren’t enough.” ~Amy Weintraub

 “You cannot do yoga.  Yoga is your natural state.  What you can do are yoga exercises, which may reveal to you where you are resisting your natural state.”  ~Sharon Gannon

“Yoga is possible for anybody who really wants it.  Yoga is universal…. But don’t approach yoga with a business mind looking for worldly gain.”  ~Sri Krishna Pattabhi Jois

“Yoga is bodily gospel.”  ~Reaven Fields

“I was in yoga the other day.  I was in full lotus position.  My chakras were all aligned.  My mind is cleared of all clatter and I’m looking out of my third eye and everything that I’m supposed to be doing.  It’s amazing what comes up, when you sit in that silence.  ‘Mama keeps whites bright like the sunlight, Mama’s got the magic of Clorox 2.'”  ~Ellen DeGeneres

“Anyone who practices can obtain success in yoga but not one who is lazy.  Constant practice alone is the secret of success.”  ~Svatmarama, Hatha Yoga Pradipika

“Yoga is the practice of quieting the mind.”  ~Patanjali, translated from Sanskrit

“Warrior pose battles inner weakness and wins focus.  You see that there is no war within you.  You’re on your own side, and you are your own strength.”  ~Terri Guillemets

“I tried yoga once but took off for the mall halfway through class, as I had a sudden craving for a soft pretzel and world peace.”  ~Terri Guillemets

Namaste!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holy Tomato!

  1. GORGEOUS quotes, thank you! I posted this one on FB:

    “Yoga teaches us to cure what need not be endured and endure what cannot be cured. ” ~B.K.S. Iyengar

    Love it. In Dutch we have kind of a similar quote that goes something like change that what you cannot accept, accept that what you cannot change, and I try to live by it. I was planning on doing a good yoga sesh today and now I’m extra motivated 🙂

    • the neurotic yogini says:

      That reminds me of the Serendity Prayer..

      “God grant me the serenity
      to accept the things I cannot change;
      courage to change the things I can;
      and wisdom to know the difference.”

      While I’m not religious at all, this prayer is just lovely. Someone sent it to me during a really rough patch of my life a few years ago. ❤

      Glad you enjoyed the quotes! I'm a quoting freak, so many many more to come!!! Enjoy your yoga today – I know I will!! (Been a longgg weekend!)

  2. glad you tried my dressing and yes, vegenaise is a lifesaver for thickening things.

    love the quotes!

Leave a Reply

